top of page
  • Writer's pictureTrending Up

God's Keys (part 2)

God's Keys are His commandments that are found in Exodus 20 & Deuteronomy 5

They are God’s keys for our relational success


10 things you don’t have to worry about


First 4 commands - our relationship with God (Vertical)

Last 6 commands - our relationship with others (Horizontal)


Throughout the last 6 keys, it is as if God is saying throughout, “I VALUE PEOPLE”

  • I value your parents and family

  • I value your belongings and those of others

  • I value your life and the life of others

  • I value faithfulness in relationship

Love for Others

“Honor your father and mother, that you may have a long life”

IOW = “You can enjoy a life of harmony with your family and those around you, because of the principles that I am teaching you.”

Through the Spirit’s power I was obedient and respectful to my parents, trying to think about how they felt, and not just the way I felt.


“Do not murder”

IOW = “You do not have to kill or murder to survive. Life is not the survival of the fittest.”

I loved others by not “killing” anyone’s reputation, or hating anyone and getting back at them for something they did to me.


“Do not commit adultery”

IOW = “You do not have to take from others what isn’t yours, because I can lead you to the best that you need. I know your heart.”

I stayed pure, not going against my promise to God to use my sexuality only for the loving purpose for which He created it.

  • Emphasizes the importance of a family

  • Shows the relationship that God wants with you - one of faithfulness

“Do not steal”

IOW = “You do not have to take from others what isn’t yours, because I will give you all that you need. I know what you need before you even tell me.”

I respected other people’s belongings, not taking anything for myself that God didn’t provide for me.


“Do not bear false witness”

IOW = “You don’t have to lie to survive, you can be someone of integrity that is true to their word.”

I did not lie to others, or about them; instead, I told them the truth in love.

  • False testimony can be unfairly condemning the innocent and/or clearing the guilty.

“Do not covet your neighbor's wife or possessions”

IOW = “You do not have to covet and lust over what others have, because if you seek Me first, I will provide all that you need.”

I didn’t waste time wishing I had what others have. I trusted, instead, that God has provided everything I need.

  • Focuses on an inward attitude, rather than an outward action.

1 Corinthians 13:4-7

4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Comments


bottom of page